Skip to product information
1 of 4

The Buk Shop

Poetry of Charles Bukowski, Home Recording (1962)

Poetry of Charles Bukowski, Home Recording (1962)

Regular price $15.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $15.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Released in 2008 by Pacifica Radio in Los Angeles, “Poetry of Charles Bukowski” is a home recording Bukowski did in Los Angeles, sometime in 1962.

I believe this is the oldest recording on record, or at the very least that is not in a private collector’s hands.

It first aired on KPFK radio in Los Angeles on August 5, 1962.

The track list includes what would become some of Bukowski’s most famous poems, such as The Tragedy Of The Leaves, Conversation In A Cheap Room, and To The Whore Who Took My Poems.

This copy is brand new and comes in a paper sleeve, an eco-friendly choice by one of the nation’s most left-leaning radio programs. The CD itself has a nice label with the track listings, which include:

  • Prayer For Broken-Handed Lovers
  • The Best Way To Get Famous Is To Run Away
  • Conversation In A Cheap Room
  • To The Whore Who Took My Poems
  • The Day I Kicked A Bankroll Out The Window
  • What A Man I Was
  • The Loser
  • The Tragedy Of The Leaves
  • The Ants
  • Bring Down The Beams
  • Riot
  • Hooray Say The Roses
  • Old Man, Dead In A Room
  • Conversation On A Telephone
  • The Twins
  • The Sunday Artist
Shelf 2
View full details